top of page

Luxembourg

Imagine being raised in a refugee camp and all you see are houses mostly covered with grass. Can you imagine how shocking and breathtaking being in Europe or anywhere beyond the campsite can be?


For a long time, I was and still am obsessed with European architecture! When I signed up for the Berlin experience, I was determined to travel and explore Europe as much as I can, and that's what I did.


On February 28th, my roommate and I made a wild decision to get on a bus and go to Luxembourg. On March 1, we found ourselves at the FlixBus station waiting for connection N780 direction Paris. Luxembourg became one of my favorite places I visited in Europe; it was small and beautiful. I was able to explore half of the country in two days.


The Ticket

On Friday morning, I got ready for work, packed clothes for the weekend and grabbed my passport as I left for work. I was excited to leave Berlin, to leave Germany! I was finally exploring Europe for real this time, and I was about to expand my mind and fulfill something I've always wanted to achieve in life.


The trip to Luxembourg seemed shorter than expected. An 11-hour bus ride went by like a blink of an eye. One minute I was in Berlin and found myself in Luxembourg when I opened my eyes. From the Bus station, Jessica and I walked for about 25 minutes to our hotel. We admired just about everything about this place, from the street signs to the vibrant vibes the city welcomed you to. When we got to the hotel, it was too early to check in, so we walked around and searched for a place to have breakfast.



There was this adorable café on the other side of our hotel that caught our attention. When we got there, Jessica ordered for us since she spoke French and I sat there taking in the beauty of the city. From the cafe, you could see the busy city center, people moving in fast paste and boutiques with shoes that screamed, "buy me!"


Although we loved the view, we couldn't enjoy the food the same. If you know how Americans serve breakfast, then Europe will disappoint you terribly. The food was cold, dry and extremely expensive; I've never paid $20 for bread and coffee!




Although our food experience wasn't the best, it didn't stop from enjoying the city. We stayed there for a couple of hours until it was time for us to check into our hotel.


After checking into our hotel, we started our tour, it was sprinkling here and there, but that didn't stop us from exploring. We started on the right side, walked through small allies, which we loved so much. We practically went through almost any alley we saw, especially the dark ones! As we walked, we passed by a breathtaking cathedral, just like most cathedrals I visited while in Europe. There was an afternoon mass held which prevented us from exploring the inside. A few blocks from the cathedral was a shopping place that was so beautiful and lively. There were people of all background, music, and so many luxurious shops that you only looked at and kept walking.


With Jessica :)


As we roamed these streets, we wanted to extend our stay and discover more of Luxembourg! The next day, which concluded our mini vacation surprised us as it came by so quickly! Not ready to say good-bye, we woke up early to start our tour. We walked around the city for hours and hours until our bodies gave up.

While walking, we discovered cute trails where we sat and took in the beauty of this world and shared thoughts. Right here and then, I realized that I loved traveling, I loved Luxembourg and that I have to return here someday.


68 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

POTSDAM

Poznań

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page